Bangladesh Women rout Ireland by 4 wkts in first T20I

World Desk : Bangladesh women’s cricket team routed hosts Ireland by four wickets in the 1st T20I of the three-match series at YMCA Cricket Club in Dublin on Thursday.

Bangladesh chased a target of 135 for 6 in 20 overs after restricting Ireland to 134 for 8 in 20 overs riding on pace bowler Jahanara Alam’s five wickets.

Jahanara took a five-for as the first Bangladeshi women cricketer.

Unbeaten Fahima Khatun [26* off 18b; 3×4] hit a single run in the last ball of the match off Eimear Richardson to reach the win.

Bangladesh innings was spurred by wicketkeeper batter Nigar Sultana [46 off 38 b; 5×4], who was caught by Kim Garth off Eimear Richardson on 116/5 in 17.4 overs.

Among other double digit scorers for Bangladesh, Ayasha Rahman [24 off 23b; 4×4] was run out on 39/2 in 7.2 overs while Fargana Hoque [13 off 25b; 1×4] was caught by Clare Shillington off Gaby Lewis on 68/3 in 12.1 overs.

Bangladesh suffered the first jolt losing Shamima Sultana in 1.2 overs when the team collection was 4.

Eimear Richardson 2/20 and Gaby Lewis 2/20 were the wicket takers for Ireland.

Sent in to bat first, Ireland women were jolted by Jahanara Alam’s five-wicket haul as she trapped lbw both Ireland openers Clare Shillington and Cecelia Joyce.

She got Shillington in the very 3rd ball of the innings on 4/1 and Joyce on 15/2 in the innings 2.1 overs.

Jahanara continued her show grabbing Kim Garth [20 off 19b; 2×4] on 110/5 in 16.3 overs and Eimear Richardson on 112/6 in 17 overs before bowling out big hitter Isobel Joyce [41off 41b; 4×4] on 123/7 in 18.2 overs.

Bangladesh skipper Salma Khatun bowled out Gaby Lewis [28 off 16b; 5×4; 1×6] while Khadija Tul Kubra got Irish skipper Laura Delany [22 off 22b; 2×4] on 38/3 in 4.5 overs and on 71/4 in 10.3 overs respectively.

Keeper Shamima Sultana worked well behind the wicket helping Jahanara and Khadija get wickets as she stumped Gaby Lewis and caught Kim Garth.

Salma and Khadija conceded 20 runs each for their one wicket apiece.

The next two matches will be held on June 29 and July 1.

This is Bangladesh’s six successive wins in their last seven matches in this format, including five wins in the six-nation Women’s T20 Asia Cup for their maiden multinational tournament title victory, defeating upper-ranked India in the final at Kinrara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on June 10.

No comments

Leave a Reply